The 2016 Miles Franklin Award Guidelines provide further information on eligibility and criteria.

Past winners

The list of winners since Patrick White in 1957 includes some of the greatest Australian writers of the past 50 years – often more than once. Thea Astley and Tim Winton share the honour of having received the Miles Franklin most times, with four wins apiece.

1957 Patrick White Voss
1958 Randolph Stow To the Islands
1959 Vance Palmer The Big Fellow
1960 Elizabeth O'Conner The Irishman
1961 Patrick White Riders in the Chariot
1962 Thea Astley The Well Dressed Explorer
  George Turner The Cupboard under the Stairs
1963 Sumner Locke Elliott Careful, He Might Hear You
1964 George Johnston My Brother Jack
1965 Thea Astley The Slow Natives
1966 Peter Mathers Trap
1967 Thomas Keneally Bring Larks and Heroes
1968 Thomas Keneally Three Cheers for the Paraclete
1969 George Johnston Clean Straw for Nothing
1970 Dal Stivens A Horse of Air
1971 David Ireland The Unknown Industrial Prisoner
1972 Thea Astley The Acolyte
1973 No award
1974 Ronald McKie The Mango Tree
1975 Xavier Herbert Poor Fellow My Country
1976 David Ireland The Glass Canoe
1977 Ruth Park Swords and Crowns and Rings
1978 Jessica Anderson Tirra Lirra by the River
1979 David Ireland A Woman of the Future
1980 Jessica Anderson The Impersonators
1981 Peter Carey Bliss
1982 Rodney Hall Just Relations
1983 No award
1984 Tim Winton Shallows
1985 Christopher Koch The Doubleman
1986 Elizabeth Jolley The Well
1987 Glenda Adams Dancing on Coral
1988 The year of the Award was changed to the year granted rather than the year published
1989 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda
1990 Tom Flood Oceana Fine
1991 David Malouf The Great World
1992 Tim Winton Cloudstreet
1993 Alex Miller The Ancestor Game
1994 Rodney Hall The Grisly Wife
1995 Helen Demidenko The Hand That Signed the Paper
1996 Christopher Koch Highways to a War
1997 David Foster The Glade Within The Grove
1998 Peter Carey Jack Maggs
1999 Murray Bail Eucalyptus
2000 Thea Astley Drylands
  Kim Scott Benang
2001 Frank Moorhouse Dark Palace
2002 Tim Winton Dirt Music
2003 Alex Miller Journey to the Stone Country
2004 Shirley Hazzard The Great Fire
2005 Andrew McGahan The White Earth
2006 Roger McDonald The Ballad of Desmond Kale
2007 Alexis Wright Carpentaria
2008 Steven Carroll The Time We have Taken
2009 Tim Winton Breath
2010 Peter Temple Truth