The 2016 Miles Franklin Award Guidelines provide further information on eligibility and criteria.

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2010

2010 Winner - Truth
by Peter Temple

Congratulations to Peter Temple who was awarded the Miles Franklin Literary Award for 2010.

Announced at an award dinner in Sydney on 22 June 2010, Peter Temple was presented this year's prize of $42,000 for his novel Truth.

Temple's winning novel is the much anticipated sequel to The Broken Shore and comprehends murder, corruption, family, friends, honour, honesty, deceit, love, betrayal - and truth. A stunning story about contemporary Australian life, Truth is written with great moral sophistication.

On behalf of the judging panel, Morag Fraser commented "It was a controversial and challenging shortlist, accomplished and diverse in many ways that made the judges' task very difficult. Each  novel offered quite a distinct and compelling fictional journey".   

The Trust Company congratulates Peter Temple and all of the shortlist authors for making this year's award a great success.

The Shortlist

On Wednesday 21 April, The Trust Company announced the six authors and their novels selected for the 2010 shortlist.

The 2010 shortlist features some of Australia's most established literary names alongside new and emerging authors, each showcasing Australian character and creativity.

The judging panel are excited by the diverse range of novels and what this means for Australian literature.

In deciding on a shortlist of six, longer than usual, the judges have acknowledged the quality of the works offered this year, and also their extreme diversity. The six novels chosen cover an extraordinary range. Their sheer quality, what Miles Franklin would have termed their ‘literary merit’, makes pigeonholing them impossible. Notions of genre could not contain them. Ideas about specific audience – is this young adult or adult fiction? – proved irrelevant. And in their exposition of Australian life ‘in any of its phases’, the six shortlisted writers gave the judges an exhilarating sense of just how bewilderingly varied those phases of Australian life could be. It has been a fascinating and challenging year.

The 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist is:

 Lovesong  Alex Miller  Allen & Unwin
 The Bath Fugues  Brian Castro  Giramondo Publishing
 Jasper Jones  Craig Silvey  Allen & Unwin
 The Book of Emmett  Deborah Forster  Random House
 Truth  Peter Temple  Text Publishing
 Butterfly   Sonya Hartnett  Penguin Group (Australia)

To read more about the shortlist novels and their authors, judges' formal comments and the reading notes click here.

The Longlist

On Wednesday 17 March, The Trust Company announced the twelve authors and their novels selected for the 2010 longlist.

Featuring a combination of well-known and emerging authors, the longlist includes three debut novels including The Book of Emmett, Siddon and Figurehead. Previous Miles Franklin Literary Award winners contending in the year’s Award include Alex Miller, Tom Keneally, Peter Carey and David Foster.

The 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist is:

 Lovesong  Alex Miller  Allen & Unwin
 The Bath Fugues  Brian Castro  Giramondo Publishing
 Jasper Jones  Craig Silvey  Allen & Unwin
 Sons of the Rumour  David Foster  Pan Macmillan
 The Book of Emmett  Deborah Forster  Random House
 Siddon Rock  Glenda Guest   Random House
 Boy on a Wire  Jon Doust  Fremantle Press
 Figurehead  Patrick Allington  Black Inc. Publishing
 Parrot and Olivier in America  Peter Carey  Penguin Group (Australia)
 Peter Temple  Text Publishing
 Butterfly  Sonya Hartnett  Penguin Group (Australia)
 The People's Train  Tom Keneally  Random House

To read more about the longlist click here.

50 books were submitted for this year's Award.

The Judges

Judges for this year's Award include Mr Richard Neville, Ms Morag Fraser AM, Professor Gillian Whitlock, Ms Lesley McKay and Mr Murray Waldren.